Something like Paella

Are you familiar with Paella? Well… it is a typical Valencian rice dish from Spain, traditionally eaten on Sundays. The name paella is the word for “frying pan” in Valencian. It is usually garnished with vegetables and meat or seafood.

Click to view the recipe

So why I’m writing about this? Okay, this is what happen…last Saturday I cooked rice with chicken and seafoods flavor, I wanted to post it in my food blog but I don’t know what name should I call it, so I decided to call it as Rice ala Paella since when it was fully cooked I noticed that it tasted and looked like Paella. Hence, I posted it yesterday.

This morning, when I checked the stats of my food blog, I found that there were lots of visitors yesterday who translated my blog into Spanish until now while I’m writing this post. Now my concern is I’m quite anxious because I know that this is not the traditional Paella dish! lol 🙂

  1. Some Arabs believe that the word originates from ‘Baqiyah’ (arabic = leftovers) .. as the dish might have been created from the leftovers of the banquets during the days of the Moors.

  2. Cat

    woooooooooooooooooooooooooow

    looks yummy !

  3. K., I think you’re also right since this dish could be prepared from leftovers!

    Cat, thanks 🙂

  1. 1 valencian paella

    […] word &quotpaella,&quot which …http://www.stcatharinesstandard.ca/ArticleDisplay.aspx?e=939581Something like PaellaSomething like paella Are you familiar with Paella? Well?? it is a typical valencian rice dish from […]




Leave a Reply

