Avoid using Names like Honey, etc.!

You might change your contact list after you will read this:

Her handbag which contained her mobile, credit card, purse..Etc….was stolen. 20min later when she called her hubby, telling him what happened. Husband says “I’ve just received your SMS asking about your Pin number. And I’ve replied a little while ago”.

When they rushed down to the bank. Bank staff told them all the money was already withdrawn. The pickpocket had actually used the stolen hand phone to sms “hubby” in the contact list and got hold of the pin number.

Within 20 mins he had withdrawn all the money from the bank account.

Morale of the story:
Do not disclose the relationship between you and the people in your contact list.
Avoid using names like Home, Honey, Hubby, sweetheart, Dad, Mum etc………………and very importantly, when sensitive info is being asked thru SMS, CONFIRM by calling back.


  1. ay..wawa namna..dapat “pang’ga” na lang or “sinta” or di kaya namna eh “irog” nal ang ung nilagay nya sa contact hehehe

    i agree, Pin codes, or passwords should be guarded all the the time – this is applicable also to emails, messenger and other form of communication..

  2. Grey

    Sh#t .. i will be so screwed .. Changing names now !

  3. Use words like McCunt.
    Vote for me so I can win the war in Iraq and all the other future wars.

  4. rambleicious

    Good advice!

    I use first names and last initial only on my phone – if I ever have my purse stolen, I hope that’ll help keep my money in my account!

  5. It never ceases to amaze me the length that crooks will go to take what isn’t theirs. And technology is the new frontier. Thanks for the tip.

  6. The husband was foolish for not asking himself why his wife (whom would probably know his PIN code to begin with) was asking for the PIN code at that moment.

  7. On the other side. Never be thoughtless enough to actually SEND anyone that information via SMS, ever.

  8. lestat, oo nga but the problem is paano if kababayan din nya ang nagnakaw? maiintindihan din yon…hehehe, right? 😀

    Grey, that’s good 🙂

    Rambleicious, hi thanks for dropping by…I’m glad that you appreciated my post, have a nice day.

    Ithaca, thanks for visiting my blog also. 🙂

    A3 AM, you have a point there… 🙂

    inrlxpatr, glad you like it 🙂

  9. he.. he.. I’m still single and my girl friend doesn’t know my PIN number 🙂

  10. Good point. That’s practical wisdom




Leave a comment