Chicken Wings and its Bad Effect!

I received this email this morning from a friend and I was really alarmed since I am a chicken wings lover, whenever I ate chicken I always looked for the wings, for me it is the best part of the chicken.  This is the content of the email:

Avoid eating chicken wings frequently – ladies especially a true story…!

A friend of mine recently had a growth in her womb and she underwent an
operation to remove the cyst. The cyst removed was filled with a dark coloured blood. She thought that she would be recovered after the surgery but she was terribly wrong. A relapse occurred just a few months later. Distressed, she rushed down to her gynecologist for a consultation. During her consultation, her doctor asked her a question that puzzled her. He ask if she was a frequent consumer of chicken wings and she replied yes wondering as to how, he knew of her eatinghabits.

You see, the truth is in this modern day and age; chickens are injected with
steroids to accelerate their growth so that the needs of this society can be met.
This need is none other than the need for food.

Chickens that are injected with steroids are usually given the shot at the neck or the wings. Therefore, it is in these places that the highest concentration of steroids exists. These steroids have terrifying effects on the body as it accelerates growth. It has an even more dangerous effect in the presence of female hormones, this leads to women being more prone to the growth of a cyst in the womb.

Therefore, I advise the people out there to watch their diets and to lower their frequency of consuming chicken wings! People, who receive this email, please forward it to your friends and loved ones. I am sure no one wants to see him or her suffer!

Do Good, Think Good!

After reading it, I immediately searched in wikipedia about the steroids and to be precised this is what I found:

A steroid is a terpenoid lipid characterized by a carbon skeleton with four fused rings, generally arranged in a 6-6-6-5 fashion.

Steroids can vary by the functional groups attached to these rings and the oxidation state of the rings. Hundreds of distinct steroids are found in plants, animals, and fungi. All steroids are biosynthetically derived either from the sterol lanosterol (animals and fungi) or the sterol cycloartenol (plants). Both sterols are derived from the cyclization of the triterpene squalene.

According to wiki also, one category of steroids is:

Anabolic steroids – a class of steroids that interact with androgen receptors to increase muscle and bone synthesis. There are natural and synthetic anabolic steroids. These are the steroids used by athletes to increase performance. In popular language the word “steroids” usually refers to anabolic steroids.

The above information was not suffiecient for what I am trying to find out, so I googled and yahooed the term steroids and to be more specific, I found the following article:

Netlore Archive: According to this email rumor, a woman developed a cyst after eating chicken wings that had been injected with steroids to accelerate growth.

Email example:
Don’t eat chicken wings – Ladies especially! This is a true story! I am very concerned about the health of the people out there especially the women!A friend of mine recently had a growth in her womb and she underwent an operation to remove the cyst. The cyst removed was filled with a dark coloured blood……..

Comment: False. The use of growth-enhancing hormones (including steroids) in poultry has been illegal in the U.S., Canada, and Europe for decades. Though the practice apparently still exists in other parts of the world, this type of substance would be administered to poultry via feed additives, not injections. Therefore, even if a detectable hormonal residue persisted in the flesh of chickens raised this way, it would not likely be concentrated in particular body parts such as the neck or wings.

In the United States, certain “steroid hormonal growth-promoting drugs” are approved for use in beef cattle, a practice deemed safe by the FDA and USDA, though not without controversy. “Studies done so far do not provide evidence to state that hormone residues in meat or dairy products cause any human health effects,” states a Cornell University fact sheet. “However, a conclusion on lack of human health effect can only be made after large-scale studies compare the health of people who eat meat or dairy products from hormone-treated animals, to people who eat a similar diet, but from untreated animals.

A WHO-sponsored study conducted in Egypt determined that poultry raised by farmers using growth-enhancing hormones contained an elevated level of estradiol (estrogen), noting that a number of scientific studies have shown a correlation between the prolonged use of oral contraceptive steroids with the appearance of a particular form of cancer in women. The study concluded that “anabolic agents in beef and chicken entail a special risk to public health.” 

Check this link for details 

It took me almost 1 hour to find the article above, I was really eager to know since I think  almost 70% of the chicken I ate in my whole life were wings. I’m glad that the email I received was just a hoax, however it seemed that I was deeply affected with it even I already knew that it was  false, I think I MUST reduce eating chicken wings from now on.  Prevention is better than Cure.


  1. EniGma

    u can always go vegan.. but then u have to worry about pesticide in ur food 😛

  2. There is no scientific proof that eating chicken or anything can lead to cyst formation. I hate these e-mails which waste your time and eanergy because you try to figure the truth, the real truth.

  3. Enigma, so it means that we really have no choice..we better eat all these foods and whatever will be will be, hahah 😀

    Chroma, you’re exactly right and I’m glad that I found the real truth. 🙂

  4. toni

    daming fat ng wings, i prefer chicken breast sliced thinly then dip in italian style bread crumbs(w/ parmesan and romano cheeses). fry in slightly oiled frying pan and enjoy..

  5. wow..yummy pix.. 🙂
    I appreciate your effort in posting the detail of this chicken wings e-mail hoax.. atleast instead of hitting the “forward mail” button.. you post it here in your blog for awareness of every readers…in fact , daily I’m receiving 2 – 3 forwarded email hoaxes (this chicken wing hoax was one of them).. but instead of mailing it to all my contact… I press “reply to all” with my email content of the info that the email is HOAX.. and the affect of forwarding hoax messages.. hehehe

    neways, I love the Chicken Wings pa rin, lalo na pag Jolibee Chicken Wings.. 🙂 🙂

  6. yara4ever

    I love chicken wings :/ thanks for posting that hon..

  7. Toni, that sounds yummy..i will try to make it at home, thanks.

    Lestat_m, I miss the Jolibee chicken wings already, hahah so delishhhhhhhh!

    Yara, you’re welcome sweetie 🙂

  1. 1 PressPosts / User / slav1k / Submitted

    http://pressposts.com/Photography/Chicken-Wings-its-Bad-Effect/

    Submited post on PressPosts.com – “Chicken Wings and its Bad Effect!”




Leave a comment